Certified Referee Observers

 

Purpose

The Certified Referee Observer will help to identify and train referees at the regional/local level, with the dual purposes of ensuring the best Regional referee cadre we can produce and shepherding those referees who wish to move on to the National referee cadre.

Goals

The goals of the Certified Referee Observer program are to:

Build a stronger base of local and regional referees. Historically, some areas of the country have higher numbers of referees, and more frequent seminar opportunities. The CRO program will ensure that each region has ample representation, with the goal of providing more equitable learning opportunities for developing referees. As more individuals sit through referee seminars and exams, more potential referees are created. While not everyone who participates in the seminar and passes the exam decides to referee, for those that do, it is imperative that they be formally observed to be awarded a rating. As they continue to work, their skills should increase, and they should be encouraged to handle the level of difficulty of higher-level bouts in order to seek higher ratings. In addition, a new requirement that all sanctioned tournaments must have at least one rated referee present means that some regions will have to create more referees than they currently have on hand.

Encourage consistency of officiating among regions. Certified Referee Observers maintain a close tie with the national cadre, and referee at national events as often as they are able. This ensures that they stay current with changes to and interpretations of rules and right of way application. When they work as a CRO at a regional or local event, they bring with them the experience of national officiating, and the resulting observations help to guide these developing referees

Funnel high-performing referees towards national events.

With CROs being present and active at more events each season, there are more opportunities to study developing referees’ abilities, and recommend that some of these be hired for a national event.

Consideration

The Referees’ Commission is charged with identifying individuals among the cadre who have the experience, desire, and time to commit to serving as a Certified Referee Observer.
Criteria to be considered:

  • A CRO must be current with their own refereeing activity. They must referee at a minimum of one NAC, Championships or international event representing the United States per season.
  • They must either be multi weapon referee with a 5 in two weapons or a 3 in a single weapon.  
  • Candidates can request appointment as a CRO by emailing the Vice-Chair of Domestic Referee Development. The Referees’ Commission will then approve all appointments.

Responsibilities of Certified Referee Observers:

  • Actively referee at regional events and coordinate with regional event organizers and regional event Head Referees to help with assigning and observation of referees at regional events.
  • Coordinate with Head Referee and other CROs at regional events to produce a report to be sent to the Domestic Referee Development Vice Chair after each event recommending referee rating changes. A CRO may recommend a rating upgrade to a maximum of level 6. They must hold a rating at least 2 levels above the rating that they are recommending in each weapon.
  • Actively support referee development both in their local area and at all regional events that they are hired for.
  • Responsible for recommending Regional referees to be invited to National tournaments.
NameDivisionRegionEmail  
Abdelaziz, AbdelwahabNew Jersey3abdelwahab_a@hotmail.com
Alperstein, DonaldColorado4dalp@aol.com
Amborski, Tomek Northern California4maestro_amborski@yahoo.com
Astudillo, CharlesSan Diego4counterriposte@gmail.com
Badawi, AmgadVirginia6amgad.badawi@yahoo.com
Baker, Bradley South Jersey3bradley.baker@temple.edu
Balog, MarcusVirginia6msbalo@email.wm.edu
Becker, William Arizona4sabreref@gmail.com
Belanich, SusanNew England3slbelanich@gmail.com
Bellantoni, RalphNew Jersey3bellantoni1@optonline.net
Benson, JerryOklahoma5jerry11423@gmail.com
Blake, David New England3prisedefer@gmail.com
Brewer, Adam New England3adam.scott.brewer@gmail.com
Brown, ZackNew Jersey3zabrown09@gmail.com
Bukantz, Jeffery New Jersey3jbukantz@gmail.com
Burchard, Peter Northern California4peter_burchard@hotmail.com
Campi-Sapery, Lisa New Jersey3lisasapery@hotmail.com
Cheris, SamColorado4sam.cheris2@relera.com
Cotton, DerekSouthern California4foilcoach@yahoo.com
Cox, Matthew North Carolina6matthew.ag.cox@gmail.com
Crocket, Dan Green Mountain3vtepee@hotmail.com
Dakova, Iana Western Pennsylvania3dakova@hotmail.com
Decker, LauraNew Jersey3laur.j.decker@gmail.com
Del Gaizo, Robert Capitol6ref@yodelrodel.org
Delap, RylanAlabama6Rylandelap@gmail.com
Delgado, Fernando Illinois2fdelga1@aol.com
Dilworth, Greg Colorado4greg.dilworth@gmail.com
Donnelly, DevinCentral California4devin.donnelly.foc@gmail.com
Dreyer, MattLong Island3mdreyer_cpa@yahoo.com
Engstrom, StefanieIllinois2sge.engstrom@gmail.com
Fadel, AbbasWisconsin2Abbas.a.fadel@gmail.com
Findlay, Doug Ohio2 findlay.2@osu.edu
Foster, AndrewNorthern California4afoster09@hotmail.com
Frye, MaryPhiladelphia3fryefoc@hotmail.com
Gamaleldin, HananNew England3gamalepee@hotmail.com
Gibbs, BobbyNorth Carolina6artfull.mind@gmail.com
Gillman, Bruce Hudson-Berkshire3FCLICLUBRAT@aol.com
Gioiella, AlexNew Jersey3Philosoraptor11@gmail.com
Greene, CharlesMaryland6charlesegreeneii@aol.com
Hine, AndriaIndiana2andria.hine@gmail.com
Jacobson, TylerSouth Jersey3twjacobson@gmail.com
Klinkov, Ariana New England3arianasabre@gmail.com
Koehler, KellyBorder Texas5kelkoehler@gmail.com
Lilov, Vladimir New Jersey3lfa@lilovfencing.com
Mahon, Mary Gold Coast Florida6meldarius@aol.com
Mar, Kevin Western Washington1kevin@washingtonfencing.com,
Matt, RyanVirginia6ryan.matt12@gmail.com
Medalis, Chris Maryland6cmedalis@gmail.com
Meehan, JustinWestern Washington1jxmcitadel@aol.com
Moss, JonNortheast3fezonh@comcast.net
Nonomura, George Northern California4fireofswords@yahoo.com
Oliver, Bill Colorado4billiver@gmail.com
Porter, GeorgeSouthern California4George.s.porter1@gmail.com
Sach, DavidNew England3dssabre@gmail.com
Seward, TonyNew Mexico4ajs.fleuret@gmail.com
Shanahan, Kevin New England3kshanahan@gmail.com
Shumate, Sean Kentucky2sean.shumate@twc.com
Sierra, DavidNorth Texas5coach@cuttingedgefencing.com
Smith, ClintIllinois2clint@lincolnsquarefencing.com
Stasinos, Mark Utah-South Idaho1mdakstas@aol.com
Taggersell, CaraNortheast3Cara.taggersell@roadrunner.com
Thornton, RonVirginia6ronthornton827@aol.com
Torchia, DanWisconsin2dtorchia@wi.rr.com
Van der Wege, Gary South Texas5wedge@austin.rr.com
Webster, Patrick Michigan2Patrick_a_webster@hotmail.com
Wilson, RussellVirginia6russellwilson5@aol.com
Mahmoud, TaysirNew England3Taysir.mahmoud@gmail.com
Pashby, StephenNorth Carolina6knave78@gmail.com
Kaidanov, Emmanuil G.Central Pennsylvania3egkaidanov@gmail.com
Scaggs, Damon Nebraska1damon.scaggs@gmail.com
Mandoki, Sandor Northern California4sffencer@gmail.com